All competitive tiers and ranks in order in Halo Infinite's Ranked Arena •

How to climb the ranks in Halo Infinite's ranking system.

Ranks in Halo Infinite are how you mark your success in the game's competitive mode, Ranked Arena.

As your skill grows, you'll find yourself progressing through Halo Infinite's ranking system, including the various ranks and tiers it consists of.

Though it's optional, for those who want to make Halo as competitive as possible, aiming to maintain the highest rank possible before the end of the season is a way to keep those multiplayer skills sharp.

On this page:

How does Halo Infinite's ranking system work?

As well as the more relaxed Quick Play and Big Team Battle playlists, there is also the Ranked Arena - essentially the game's competitive mode.

Ranked Arena not only assigns players a rank based on their performance, but also strips away some features seen in other modes.

In ranked matches, the radar and grenade hitmarkers are disabled, friendly fire is on, and everyone has a Battle Rifle by default. Items will spawn in static locations, too.

To begin with Halo Infinite's ranking system, you must play 10 matches within that playlist, which will judge your performance and give you a starting rank. From there, you can move up and down ranks and tiers based on your prowess.

Ranked Arena features various four-vs-four team-based modes - Slayer, Capture the Flag, Oddball and Strongholds - and allows you to be part of a squad or enter solo. (You can also use the mode to work towards your weekly challenges).

By default you'll be playing cross-play and with mixed inputs; if you are solo or in a duo, it's worth changing to the Solo / Duo ranked queue then the input which matches yours and keeps things as fair as possible.

Halo Infinite raking tiers and ranks in order

Once you have played 10 matches within Ranked Arena, you will be given your first Competitive Skill Rank, placing you within the ranking system.

From there, you can continue to move up and down the ranks based on your ongoing performance.

The first five ranks have six tiers each to move up and down within. Meanwhile, the final and highest rank, Onyx, has a single tier.

Going from the lowest to the highest, the ranks and their tiers in Halo Infinite are:

  • Bronze (6 tiers)
  • Silver (6 tiers)
  • Gold (6 tiers)
  • Platinum (6 tiers)
  • Diamond (6 tiers)
  • Onyx (1 tier)

How to climb the ranking system in Halo Infinite

Developer 343 Industries has yet to share exactly how Halo Infinite's ranking system works (it promises to offer a "deeper dive into the inner-workings" soon), but based on in-game descriptions and community experience, we have some idea.

According to the in-game description for the Competitive Skill Rank, "your rank improves when you perform better than expected" - so once you have established your initial ranking, you need to play better and not simply win to move ranks (which sounds obvious, but suggests you need to improve above your average performance).

Based on community findings, this appears to be somewhat true. Players are finding personal performance, as well as team wins and loses, has an impact on your ranking. There are reports of players ranking up even if they lost, seemingly based on how well they did individually, which hopefully means it's worth putting in your all and bettering your personal score even if things are looking a little one sided for the team as a whole.

It is important to note that with Halo Infinite launching in beta, it's possible you may experience some unusual activity or in-game bugs (both with the ranking system and game wide) which should be ironed out in time. As such, it could be worth waiting until the full launch of Halo Infinite (and / or waiting until 343 has openly disclosed how the ranking system works) before investing a serious amount of time into the mode.

Coming soon is the Halo Infinite campaign release time. In multiplayer, we can help with completing weekly challenges, including those for the commando rifle, fusion coil and a killing spree. If you're looking to step up the challenge, then Halo Infinite's ranking system is waiting.

Do ranks reset in Halo Infinite?

Though not fully confirmed, the explainer for the Competitive Skill Rank says playing the initial 10 matches determines where you start "for the season", which suggests this will reset when each season ends.

343 Industries has confirmed Season 1 will end in May 2021 instead of March as originally proposed. This is when several new features could be added to the game - including the addition of campaign co-op.

The original plan was for seasons to last three months each - and it's possible this schedule will be maintained from season 2 onwards - essentially meaning each ranking period will be three months as well.

According to head of creative Joseph Staten, the Season 1 extension was made "to give ourselves more time to ensure Season 2 meets our high quality bar and so we can finish development for Season 2 in a healthy and sustainable way for our team."